Take that, Mom

It’s been a pretty boring week around here. Not that I’m complaining – after all, no news is usually good news. Mom is helping out with Kindergarten Camp this week so she is gone for most of the day. Other than her piano students, nobody’s visited. When the students get here I like to sniff them for a couple minutes just to check out where they’ve been, but they’re always clean. Ho-hum.

But late this afternoon, just before supper, the regular Schwan’s guy came! As soon as he walked in the door he gave me a treat. I knew that wasn’t enough. Last time he was here, he promised double treats because he had forgotten to bring one. Here’s a picture of me staring him down:

I got my second treat.

After all that, I got really excited whenever I heard a truck, or car, or motorcycle or anything else that was moving. It was my way of saying “Mom, Mom!” “Someone else might be coming!” I guess I over-did it, and I had to start panting to cool off.

So Mom looks at me and says “Minnie, you need to calm down. Go get a drink of water”.

Sure, I should just go and get a drink of water. It’s after 5:00 and we all know that the beverage you just took out of the fridge sure ain’t water. But me, the one in charge of protecting your life and limb, should chill out with a sip of water. Hey, I’m old enough (in dog-years) to be your grandmother. No, wait – I’m not that old.

So, the revenge begins. First, I resumed barking at anything that moved. That included leaves. Next, I acted like I needed to go out again, even though I didn’t. I finished with a flurry of barking at the treat door.

It worked! Mom shared her malt beverage with me, and all is well.

Take care, everyone. I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

