Holding On

So I’m sitting around, doing what I do best (relaxing) and waiting for Mom’s piano student to show up. I knew she was coming because Mom vacuumed.

Mom looks at me and says “Hey Min – let’s go for a last ride”.

Hmmm…I wasn’t so sure about the sound of that. Who’s last ride? But, having no choice in the matter, we got in the station wagon and took off. It didn’t take long before I thought it was going to be the last ride for everyone and everything involved.

Mom took off like a bat out of you-know-where. She put in a tape and cranked it up, and sang along like a mad woman. She played the same two songs over and over: “Roll With It” and “Holding On”. Believe me, I was. We drove all around town, screaming around corners, pulling in front of people and racing away with Mom yelling “Get outta my way! I gotta corvette engine and two and a half tons of steel!!” At least I got to stick my head out the window before I died.

Finally Mom pulled into the driveway, put the car into park and turned it off. It was then that I realized what was going on. Today was the last day the wagon could be driven recklessly legally.

My family took me home from the Archer Puppy store in the station wagon. We all sat in it when we moved from Illinois to Pennsylvania. Well, my family sat in it. I stood at attention in my crate in the back of the wagon for the entire trip. I did not move a single muscle for 600 miles. Honestly.

We were all in the station wagon when we went to the drive-thru at Popeye’s Chicken. Dad couldn’t understand a word the person on the intercom was saying so I started barking out the order and I guess that just made it worse and before long everyone was laughing so hard they were crying.

Speaking of crying, I swear I saw tears in my Mom’s eyes when she pulled up the hill. But I can’t say for sure because I had a few of my own.

I don’t know what’s going to happen to the wagon now. I guess they have to put it to sleep. At times like these I like to remember what Dr. Seuss said:  “Don’t be sad because it’s over, be happy because it happened”.

Besides, it’s only a car. What would you rather have, The World’s Best Car or The World’s Best Dog?   ‘Nuff said.

I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holding On

  1. Oh Minnie, how sad! I’m glad I got to ride in it when I came to visit this weekend, it’s neat being a part of history! I hope I get to see you and your parents soon, I had a blast!

Leave a Reply

