The Come-Back Kid

One week ago, things weren’t looking too promising for me. My parents honestly thought I was headed for that ramp to the dining room table in the sky. There were lots of tears and tribulation that fateful day.

When it appeared I was going to hang in there for a while longer they talked about having to get me something like a doggie-wheelchair (they make those?) and keeping me in my cage whenever I was alone. I can’t get anywhere near the stairs inside the house as they’re either blocked off or the door is closed.

But one week later, here I am sitting up for my treat like nothing ever happened:

What a superb combination of effort, balance and concentration! And what kind of treat did I get for this magnificent display of spirit – a minuscule piece of my dry dog food. Ask me to sit up again, Mom, and see what kind of a response you get. SHOW ME THE BACON!!!

My brother might come see me this weekend. I really hope he can make it happen. I will even suffer the indignity of a bath to look my spiffiest for him. But my parents keep telling me, over and over, how good I look right now, sans the washing:

Well it seems my immediate health crisis is over for now. But I don’t have to tell you that none of us are getting out of this alive (although technically I’m not aware of my mortality). I know all dogs go to heaven, so I guess my biggest fear about death is this:¬† will I have to hang out with the Snooks’ dogs in heaven?

I sure hope not. I hope you’re all hanging out with the ones you love!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Come-Back Kid

  1. phillydad says:

    You look like you regained you athletic self Min but the last time I saw the snook dogs they resembled the Bumpus dogs more then cujo. Keep up your conditioning plan, it is working.

  2. phillydad says:

    Min, I know the weather has been cold. I was informed that you do not spend much time outside when you go out. No smelling the roses buried under two feet of snow but take heart that opening day is only 50 days away. Yes it will be OZ fest and Puliepalooza on the south side once again. Stay warm, see you Friday.

Leave a Reply

