A Relatively Clean Bill of Health

I went to my vet yesterday. Calm down, it was for my regular yearly check-up. My vet ran all the usual procedures and told my mom that my heart sounded good, I looked “gorgeous” (she really said that) and was doing as well as any other dog my age with liver failure.

My vet asked my mom if she had any concerns. “Well”, says Mom, “Minnie’s acting a bit differently. She’s been barking a lot. She used to sit quietly while my piano students’ parents waited in the living room, but now she just barks and barks at them. I think she’s a little anxious”.

Hoo, boy. I’m a bit anxious? This, from the queen of anxiety. Mom gets heart palpitations just THINKING about driving up Dutch Hill. If I’m anxious, it’s from being around you too much, Mom.

You know why I’m barking so much? Because I was really, really sick a couple months ago but now I feel great. I’m going for the gusto and barking is something I like to do. So I’m going to indulge myself and bark away.

However…. I also heard the vet mention that my barking might be due to dementia. Oh my, I know what happens when people think you’re “getting difficult” because you’re elderly. And it doesn’t involve going to a doggy nursing home.

So I decided to tone it down a bit, at least for now. I know Mom thinks I didn’t bark as much because she gave me a good talking-to when the students started arriving, and so far as I’m concerned, she can go ahead and think that. We know better.

Oh, my Mom also mentioned that I’m no longer thrilled with my new dry dog food. My vet astutely recognized that I’m somehow managing to choke it down since I gained almost five pounds in two months. Before you jump to judgment, my vet wanted me to gain the weight. I’m now at 39.3 lbs, and she said that’s perfect:

Yeah, you can say it. You wish you had a tummy tuck like mine.

So anyway, Mom’s been soaking my food in a little water before I get it. I hate the delay, but like the results. Life’s full of trade-offs.

I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Relatively Clean Bill of Health

  1. phillydad says:

    You look very fit, a lean mean barking machine. You look so fit that if you can sharpen your ball catching abilities you will have an excellent chance of playing left field for the White SOX. The guy that they have there now has dropped two fly balls in the first 9 games resulting in two loses for the sox.

Leave a Reply

