The Great Speedup

Mother Jones recently had a fine article (link here) about “The Great Speedup”. That’s when the CEOs, CFOs, directors, et. al. of big business decide to get even more “productivity” (corporate-speak for more work hours) from their workers while paying them even less. I’m sure that as soon as they implement this plan, the top cats get in a limo to go home and spend some quality time with the family, or perhaps they hop on a jet to some faraway exclusive resort to celebrate their business savvy. That along with the fact that they pay less income tax than their over-worked employees. Way less.

Each summer, as soon as the calendar reads July 1st, I know what’s going to happen around here. Yep, it’s The Great Speedup. Mom realizes that summer really is going to end, and I get saddled with double-duty. In addition to keeping the floors clean, I’ve been put on chipmunk watch:

Notice my diligence in monitoring all the windows.  And what do I get for this great speedup? More snacks, more walks, some bacon, ANY perk? Nope. Nada.

Needless to say, my work ethic went south fast:

Heck, maybe I’ll even go on strike again. Or not. After all, I’m sure Mom will give me Monday, the 4th of July off and let me eat barbeque. Stay tuned.

I hope you get Monday off, even though I know my brother & his girlfriend will probably have to work. Hey, speaking of my brother, I’m so proud of him! His band played the main stage at Comfest last weekend. That’s a really big music festival in Columbus. He played for thousands of people! Way to go, Raw Dough!

I love you and hope you enjoy the 4th. Don’t forget to fly your flag.

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great Speedup

  1. Iowa Cousins says:

    Hey Minnie!

    Toby and Tyler want you to know you only have 15 days to get your work all done before we come!!! Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

