Deer Demolition Derby

How’s that for some awesome alliteration?

When my parents moved our family here a decade ago, they wanted to live amongst the beauty of the forest and its wildlife.

How dare the wildlife show up! Here’s the latest swath of rampant destruction.

First, the raccoons dug up the lawn and were probably responsible for knocking over the birdbath:

         

But I know it was a deer that committed the second apocalypse of the garden:

         

They demolished the second planting of beans and peas, ripped apart the kale and all the pepper plants, got most of the tomatoes, and, as a final insult, destroyed some of Mom’s astilbes:

How dare they. They acted like wild animals. They didn’t even bother to cover up their hoof prints.

Thankfully, they left most of our hostas alone (at least for the time being) along with Mom’s bee balm:

         

         

I want you to know that while Mom was taking these pictures of moi, I did my best to eat some grass. I almost got some, but she kept jerking my chain until I finally started hacking and then the photo shoot was over.  There are a couple double entrendres in there, and that’s about as clever as I get.

Anyway, I want to give a shout-out to my Iowa cousins who will have their benefit this coming Sunday. I sure hope it goes well.

Here’s some insider trading information – if I were you, I would invest heavily in Liquid Deer Fence next Spring. I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deer Demolition Derby

  1. PhillyDad says:

    can we make a salad out of bee balm?

Leave a Reply

