The Fall Harvest

Turns out the deer didn’t eat everything in the garden. Look and see what came from our $75.00 investment of seeds and plants:

You’ve got to admit those are ten pretty fine-looking potatoes. Plus, we got two (count ’em, two) shallots and four hot peppers. I’m not going to do a cost analysis. My parents are going to eat the potatoes and shallots tomorrow for lunch. I hope it’s really, really, good.

We had another harvest. One that didn’t cost a dime. One that was provided entirely by Mother Nature. My parents didn’t have to plant, they didn’t have to water, they didn’t have to pull weeds and most importantly, the deer wouldn’t eat it. Here it is:

Lots and lots of blackberry jelly. This is after my mom gave a dozen jars away. And she’s got another batch (albeit the final one) in the making:

If only this was bacon. Anyway, there’s only one harvest I care about these days. Keep the turkey coming!

I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fall Harvest

  1. Minnie, I would pay your mom for some of that jelly. In fact, I would gladly buy $75 in produce for some of that.

    Also, congrats on being the perfect size for a beaglador! You’re lucky, beagles are one of the breeds that tend to be a bit on the pudgy side according to our vet. Thankfully you get plenty of walks and better food than some people I know!

    • minniekamper says:

      Well I’m going to have to bark at Mom to get a care package going your way. She loves giving the jelly to someone who enjoys it.

      Yes, I am lucky to take after the lab side of a beaglador, at least when it comes to staying fit. And Mom often says that if she watched her own diet as carefully as she watches mine, she’d look and feel a lot better. You humans.

Leave a Reply

