Too Close for Comfort

My Mom treasures her Thursdays. That’s her one day off from everything. She tries to make sure we have everything we need so we can just hunker down for the day:

Geez. If I could drink beer again, I’d pick something better than that.

So, after she got my morning meal ready, I heard some shocking news. “Minn”, Mom says, “You only have one meal left in the freezer”.

What??? How can you be so calm? LET’S GET INTO TOWN RIGHT NOW!!!! I know Mom is loathe to venture out on Thursdays so I decided to take matters into my own paws. Here I am trying to use mental telepathy to get the steering wheel going:

Nothing happened. So, Mom reluctantly got in and started the car. She let me come along for the ride. I was worried the whole way. There’s just one store that carries my brown rice and fresh turkey. What if they ran out? That’s happened before, but I always had a couple more days of food left in the freezer. Mom cut it way too close this time.

“Don’t worry, Minn. If they don’t have turkey, I’ll just get you some nice chicken. And I’ve got a little bit of instant brown rice in the cupboard”.

Chicken and instant rice? That’s just barkin’ smack. I know if she was out of beer and all the beer stores were closed, we’d be on our way to the New York state border right now.

Thankfully, we were able to purchase everything I need:

Whew. It’s simmering on the stove as I blog.

I hope all of you get to eat something you like today. I love you!

 

 

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too Close for Comfort

  1. philydad says:

    With all the home cooked meals you have been eating I can see why you turned you nose away from the beer. That beer is not microbrew its micro taste. An old dog behind the wheel of a Buick, not so uncommon as you might think.

Leave a Reply

