Changing of the Banner

We’ve been having some extraordinarily nice weather in this neck of the woods. Downside:  no heat in the floors. But we really don’t need it. It’s been 20 to 30 degrees above normal. Most of the snow has been gone for weeks. The polar ice caps are melting and the oceans are rising. Mom’s getting the studded snow tires taken off her car, and it’s not Easter yet. All this can only be due to one thing:  BASEBALL IS COMING!!!

Time for me to change our banner:

We really need to get a Blackhawks banner. This one was up way too long. Well, let’s get it down:

Okay, I got that done. Where is our Sox banner? Alright, I’ll go look for it. Why do I have to do everything around here?

Now I’ve got to hang it:

Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain tree. The Mighty Minn has barked!

Hope springs eternal in this household. Maybe the Sox will will the pennant. Maybe Dunn will play to half his potential. A third would be nice. After all, he does make $12 million dollars a year, and I know these are tough times for the 1%. Obama wants him to pay a shocking 3% more on some of his income, plunging him back into the dark ages. No, not the 50s or 60s when the tax rate for the rich was 90%. I’m barking about 1999, when the top tax rate was a horrible, job-decimating rate of 36% and the national budget had a surplus and was on track to pay off the deficit within 10 years.

Thank god Bush showed up and ran up the deficit by 89% (from 5.7T to 11T) to give tax breaks to job creators, and then started two wars. One was to get cheap oil. More jobs and cheap oil. Did that happen? No, but the 1% got an awful lot wealthier.

Obama only produced a paltry 40% increase (from 11T to 15T). And all he had to deal with were two wars, the second depression and a Congress that won’t vote for anything he backs. Yeah, look it up.

Yes, hope springs eternal. I hope I live to see another sunrise and start barking at hallucinations until I drive my sleeping parents crazy. Geez, that’s fun. I hope I get to see all of you again!

I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing of the Banner

  1. PhillyDad says:

    Min don’t go too far with that Bears’ banner. We can put it back up when the SOX are out of contention and with most of the players back from last year’s team it may not be about the time bear’s start training camp. Anyway you sure are a good looking dog.

Leave a Reply

