The Deer Hunter

Look at what my dad & I found the other day while taking a walk in our forest:

It’s a shed deer antler. No big deal, right? Just for the heck of it, I checked them out on Ebay. Here’s one that is currently being auctioned off:

And the latest bid? $107.50. Mom had better put that antler in a safer place than the front porch. $107.50 buys an awful lot of turkey.

Speaking of food, Mom did the tofu thing again today. I think she thinks having it once or twice a week makes up for all the other days of eating…..for lack of a better word…..stuff.  Along with being the beer hunter. Good luck with that.

After pressing, marinating and searing the tofu, she put it in a tortilla shell with brown rice, black beans and roasted peppers:

So far, so good. Then she rolled up the tortilla and smothered it with homemade enchilada sauce and some cheese. Here’s the rub – will the avocado be decent? When buying one in Coudersport, you never know. She bravely sliced it in half:

So good even I wanted a bite! Here’s the finished plate:

Almost as good as what she makes for me. But since I’m a big fan of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”, I’ll stick to my regularly scheduled program.

I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Deer Hunter

  1. Minnie, if your mom will make that for us our next visit, I will make her an entire batch of my cupcakes. I won’t even make her share. Seriously, that looks so yummy!

  2. phillydad says:

    Extreme will power is what I see in these pictures but the avocado picture looks as if you were losing control. We may not have been shown the next picture of you running away with an avocado in your mouth. I didn’t know that the antler had any value. You may need to exercise some of your guard dog skills on that item or maybe we should go and hunt up some more and start a business.

    • minniekamper says:

      Dad, what you don’t see in the avocado picture is the treat hidden just behind it. Not that I wouldn’t try the avocado, but I know that some things on the table are off limits until Mom leaves the room.

Leave a Reply

