Good News and Bad News

I had my annual visit to my doctor today, and got some good & bad news. Which do you want first? I’ll give you the bad news first. I didn’t get to eat breakfast! My doctor wanted to run blood tests so I couldn’t eat anything. Geez, even if I don’t feel like eating, I’d like to make it my own choice.

Okay, okay, I’ll tell you what the vet said. Evidently my kidneys have conspired with my liver in this “failure” plot. And when your liver AND kidneys refuse to cooperate with your body, you throw up a lot. So, I lost some weight and got a little anemic. And there’s not a lot Mom can do about my kidney failure. Here’s a pic of my poor shaved neck where the vampires got my blood:

I still think they’re making it up so they can eat all the bacon and drink all the beer.

There’s good news, too. Mom’s magic food and care have kept my liver failure in check and its progression has slowed down. That means I can have my daily egg treat again! Here I am wolfing it down. Oh – my water looks like sludge because Mom put vitamins in it to take care of my anemia:

Did you notice my dining area mat says “Seasons Greetings”? Next we’ll be leaving the Christmas lights up all year ’round. Welcome to Potter County.

Tomorrow Mom has to go to the pharmacy and get more pills for me. If they don’t work, she has to learn how to do a kind of dialysis with an IV and a drip bag. I sure hope the pills work. The thought of having a preschool/piano teacher inserting a big needle into me just makes me want to…….you guessed it.

I almost forgot! Guess what – my poop doesn’t smell offensive! I am not kidding you. When the doctor went to test it, she asked my mom if she had brought the right bag because it smelled pleasant. Wow, I guess that makes me the universe’s best dog and compensates for my breath:

I love you!

 

 

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good News and Bad News

  1. PhillyDad says:

    Well I guess the anemia explains all the nap time. We must have weekend anemia. You are becoming a four legged pharmacy and with such a large portion of your day devoted to taking medication it does not leave as much time for other things like looking for trespassing dogs and small game. As for your water bowl, the last time I saw a liquid that color was St Patrick’s Day in Chicago several years ago.

Leave a Reply

