How’s Your Garden Growing?

Back when we lived in Illinois, my parents had a small garden. Each year they would jam plant 20 or 25 tomato plants into it. Some other things, too – a few peppers, maybe some beans or broccoli, but their main goal was to get tomatoes.

When we moved to Pennsylvania one of the first things they did was start a garden, and plant some tomatoes. The tomatoes were a disaster the first year. And the second year. And the third year, and the fourth year, so on and so on. I don’t think they picked ten good tomatoes from the 100+ plants they planted over eleven years. This year, my mom finally resigned herself to the fact that she can’t grow tomatoes here.

I don’t care. The only way I’m going to eat a tomato is if you give me a BLT, without the LT. So what if it just doesn’t get warm enough in Potter County to grow tomato plants.

Wrong.

It’s been plenty warm to grow tomatoes in Potter County. So, my mom went and got one – count ’em, ONE plant:

The next day it didn’t get over 62 degrees.

However, the warm weather returned, and thanks to a couple days of rain, everything is growing well. Let me show you around:

         

The berry harvest has begun! This usually doesn’t arrive until August. Here’s what we got today:

Hey, I haven’t formally announced the good news about my sister. I know most of you already know, but she has A JOB!!! A GOOD job! It’s in some suburb of Cleveland. Isn’t that where the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is? I know how I can make it there. Get me Mike’s first guitar!!

I guess I’d better learn how to play it with something other than my tongue.

I hope your gardens are growing well. I love you!

About minniekamper

I am the world's best dog. I was born November 23, 1996 and I went to live with the world's luckiest family on February 1, 1997. I love bacon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment